If you’ve spent any time on #BookTok, you may have noticed the rise in popularity of “spicy” books. If you haven’t been on #BookTok, it’s a community within TikTok that is specifically focused on talking about new, upcoming, or favorite books that people from all around the world are reading. #SpicyTok or Spicy #BookTok is filled with audiobooks with romance that heats up throughout the book, sometimes using pepper emojis to indicate the spice level.?️?️?️

These “spicy books” can come in a variety of different flavors, from contemporary rom-coms to sports romances, to slow burns, to fantasy novels. We’ve put together a list of some of our favorite spicy audiobooks trending on #BookTok that you can add to your TBR.

 

CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE

 

Good Girl Fail

Written by Roni Loren, narrated by Samantha Summers

Good girls can have fun too… especially when she’s their good girl.

Auden knows he shouldn’t touch his sister’s friend, knows good girls like her should stay away from him and his roommate and their activities, but it’s going to be hard…

Learn More >

 

SPORTS ROMANCE

 

Only One Kiss

Written by Natasha Madison, narrated by Ava Lucas and Connor Crais

When Ralph finds himself raising his daughter on his own, he doesn’t realize how much help he needs—professionally and romantically—until Candace crosses his path.

Learn More >

 

ROMANTIC FANTASY

 

A Crown of Ivy and Glass

Written by Claire Legrand, narrated by Evelyn Rose

This lush, sweeping fantasy-romance series starter from the bestselling author of Furyborn is perfect for fans of Bridgerton and A Court of Thorns and Roses.

Lady Gemma Ashbourne seemingly has it all. She’s young, gorgeous, and rich. Her family was Anointed by the gods, blessed with incredible abilities. But underneath her glittering façade, Gemma is deeply sad. Years ago, her sister Mara was taken to the Middlemist to guard against treacherous magic. Her mother abandoned the family. Her father and eldest sister, Farrin—embroiled in a deadly blood feud with the mysterious Bask family—often forget Gemma exists.

Worst of all, Gemma is the only Ashbourne to possess no magic. Instead, her body fights it like poison. Constantly ill, aching with loneliness, Gemma craves love and yearns to belong.

Then she meets the devastatingly handsome Talan d’Astier. His family destroyed themselves, seduced by a demon, and Talan, the only survivor, is determined to redeem their honor. Intrigued and enchanted, Gemma proposes a bargain: she’ll help Talan navigate high society if he helps her destroy the Basks. According to popular legend, a demon called The Man with the Three-Eyed Crown is behind the families’ blood feud—slay the demon; end the feud.

But attacks on the Middlemist are increasing. The plot against the Basks quickly spirals out of control. And something immense and terrifying is awakening in Gemma, drawing her inexorably toward Talan and an all-consuming passion that could destroy her—or show her the true strength of her power at last.

Learn More >

 

DARK ROMANCE

 

King of Flesh and Bone

Written by Liv Zander, narrated by Auri Alden and Gregory Salinas

King of Flesh and Bone is a full-length dark fantasy novel, the first book in The Pale Court duet. The two-part story features a ruthless man, the woman who can’t escape his love, and a Happily Ever After. This world contains dark themes, violence, loss, and elements of horror some may find disturbing. What this book doesn’t contain is a hero—because villains do it better.

Learn More >

 

Looking for more romantic listens? Check out our romance audiobooks here.